Early Years/Reception




The EYFS gives guidance in the learning and development of children in seven learning areas. These are fall under prime and specific areas as follows:

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

All activities are play based as this is the way in which children are challenged and learn with enjoyment. We believe that as teachers we are role models for the children in our care and we are committed to planning activities that are age appropriate and help children to acquire skills that will not only prepare them for the next phase of their education but for life. We acknowledge that parents are the most significant adults in a child’s life and, in order to enhance educational quality, they are partners in planning the development and growth of their child at school.

How it works

Children in the PPS are grouped according to age. Each of the classes – Green, Blue, Red, Yellow and Reception has a set syllabus with aims and objectives designed to cater for the particular age group. Classes may be split into a further two groups in accordance with the number of children. This ensures that groups are smaller and adult child ratios in terms of learning needs are met. Assessment at each level determines whether a child is able to progress to the next stage.

Children in the Yellow Class are eligible for the Reception Year in accordance with their age. Again assessment will determine whether they will cope with the demands of the Reception Year. At all stages communication between parents and teachers plays a major role as all decisions made must be in the best interest of the child.